This is the year penguins will fly.

Enormous Raffle! 50 Prizes to be won!

Today I heard of an Etsy teams plight to help their fellow team member. It really does prove how much of a great community Etsy is and really restores a bit of faith in the human race.

Sandra, of Azulado, lost her husband to cancer a few days before Christmas. Now she is struggling to support her 5 year old son whilst making arrangements for her husbands funeral, not an easy task for anyone.

With all the extra costs for the illness and burial of her husband and finding it difficult to get support from her government she is understandably struggling to get herself back on her feet.

This is where her Etsy Team comes in. They have all banded together to organise a huge raffle full of amazing handmade gifts! With 50 chances of winning something beautiful, whilst supporting a family going through hard times, who could say no?

The raffle only costs $5 usd (that’s roughly £3.50) so not exactly breaking the bank, but can hopefully make a lot of difference to one family.

I think this plight has really touched me personally as it is very similar to own my mothers situation when she had me.

A month before I was born my dad died from a heart disease leaving my mum to bring up myself and my older sister on her own. Luckily our family supported her throughout and, in my opinion, myself and my sister have grown up very well (she really did do us proud).  I couldn’t ever imagine going through what my mum went through, she is truly an inspiration to me and a fantastic woman.

So please help out another mother going through a difficult time.

All the details can be found here : http://star-of-the-east.blogspot.co.uk/2013/01/the-kindness-of-strangers.html

5 responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this!

    January 19, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    • You’re welcome! 🙂

      January 19, 2013 at 7:54 pm

  2. Hello! I have nominated you for the Liebster award 🙂 http://cherryblossomtears.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/liebster-award/

    January 20, 2013 at 9:18 pm

  3. Pingback: Crafters With Heart « PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

  4. You’re on my blog! 🙂 Thank you for being an “Etsy angel.” 🙂 http://pillowsalamode.wordpress.com/2013/02/13/crafters-with-heart/

    February 14, 2013 at 4:26 am

Leave a comment