This is the year penguins will fly.

Happy Horse Year!

Today begins the chinese new year and this year is the year of the horse!

To celebrate i decided to dress up a little in this gorgeous dress I bought from the pearl market (a crazy bustling market you will either love or hate) in beijing along with a few matching accessories I made.

20140130_143259(0)

Unfortunately the shots are just phone quality as the battery is dead on my camera and I seem to have misplaced my charger. Oops.

I  posed with this cute horse statue I got from Xian (pronounced Shi-an) where the terracotta warriors are found. Perfect with it being the year of the horse! I also have a warrior figure, I just wish I could have bought more!

20140130_14315520140130_143236
20140130_143205

For my make up I went bold with red lips and pale face inspire by geishas and a glittery gold eyeshadow with an asian inspired flick of eyeliner.

20140130_143113 20140130_143649

I also bought that fan on my trip to China from a little store in the forbidden city.

In my hair I wore these chopsticks along with a cute flower hair bobble I made. These flowers will soon be available in my Etsy shop so keep an eye out or contact me for more details! I don’t know quite where the chop sticks are from, I’m pretty sure my mum and her boyfriend bought them for me on a holiday where they stopped off in hong kong for a flight change over.

20140130_142944

20140130_142927

I also wore these chinese style earrings I made. Another pair like these should also be available in my store soon.

20140130_150506

However, whilst you’re waiting for me to list these items (they wont be long I promise! I just need to find my camera charger) I do have plenty of chinese prints available so you too can get into the new year spirit! Just click the image to find it in my shop!

I captured this stunning photograph at the Chinese Opera in Beijing which was certainly an experience. The costumes were completely stunning, the singing not so much.

This is one of my favourite photographs I’ve taken. It was of the old city walls in Xian. I just love the juxtaposition between old and new.

And what trip to China wouldn’t be complete without a picture of the great wall. I just had to get some photo’s of it snaking into the distance!

And here’s another with mountains fading into the background!

I have also some possible plans for celebrating the new year in crafting style, as long as I’m free to go to the events happening this week.

Are you doing anything to get into the New Year spirit?

Claire x

20140130_143555

One response

  1. Pingback: 365 project – Days 27 to 32 | The Penguin Theory

Leave a Reply

