This is the year penguins will fly.

Ties Fit for a Queen

…or maybe not.

I had planned to sew some ties for my workfriends as we we’re all going to Royal Ascot together. However silly me forgot about it until the day before!

This meant I had a big rush to sew 3 ties, with difficult silk fabric, and work during the day.

I was defintiely rushed off my feet and didn’t get nearly as much sleep as I needed that night, but the ties we’re made in time! Ok, so they were a bit wonky, and one had a slight hole in the stitching, but the boys seemed pretty happy! 🙂

Don’t they look Dapper!

Royal ascot itself was a brilliant day. Ash didn’t join me as he doesn’t really agree with or like horse racing but i planned to meet him when we all got back.

I wore a white lace dress with a black jacket (which promptly came off as it was so warm) and some black wedges. I even wore a pretty little anklet which jingled when I walked, there was no losing me that day! I wish I had some better pictures but no one has uploaded theres onto facebook yet! Boo.

We got to the pub around half 8 and had breakfast, champagne and a good ol’ chat. Soon the coach arrived and we we’re off! Already a little tiddly, and with lots more alcohol to drink, it was unlikely we would end the day looking so refined.

When we got off the coach it was boiling hot! I am definitely glad I wasn’t wearing a shirt, girls definitely have it much easier in the hot weather at events like this.

We all slapped on the sunscreen and carried on having a good time. I betted on the horses with silly names but won nothing. Soon we ended up moving to the shade as it was so warm. We got a few ciders (for vast expense) and just chilled and chatted.

All too soon it was time to go home. As soon as I sat down on the bus I seemed to pass out and I slept for most of the journey home, waking up just as we were getting back.

Ash came to meet me but then everyone decided to go home anyway, as we were tired from a long day.

We got home and just cuddled up with some movies. The perfect end to a fun filled day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

