This is the year penguins will fly.

Screenprinting – Yey or Nay?

I’ve been looking into possibly expanding to screenprinting. 

I really want to look into it as I have a few designs that would take too long appliqueing to be viable, however I know the materials can be a little costly. I’d also prefer to make my minecraft ties printed rather than appliqued because, again, i’m losing money (and after all this is trying to be a business) taking the time to sew everything on. I will probably still do the odd applique work, but I really feel this would be the next step in my business for the plans I have in my head.  

I found some good looking starter kits for around £70-100 and am tempted to spend some of my christmas money on them but don’t want to invest too much into something that would end up being a failure as I really can’t afford that at the moment. 

Do any crafters out there know much about screen printing, more specifically if it is worth while?

One response

  1. I really love screenprinting. In my opinion, it’s definitely worth the investment. The kit and supplies I used my first time doing this at home cost me no more than $75 USD. It came with one screen ( I bought a second, smaller one), small sizes of the emulsion and other chemicals necessary, just enough to try with on 2 screens. And it came with 3 jars of different colors of ink. Since I liked it so much, I could add more supplies as my finances can afford. Hope you get to try it!

    March 13, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Leave a Reply

