This is the year penguins will fly.

Feeling Supported

Although I’m not sure how much longer I want to work in the pub, I do really love the people there. Sure there is the odd annoying, rude customer but the friendly customers (and hilarious staff) are the ones that make it all worth while!

There are a lot of the regulars that are great to have a chat with but there is one gentleman in particular who is the jolliest man you will ever meet, he loves his ale and always exclaims ‘marvellous’ in his deep voice when you hand him his pint. He actually knows about ‘The Penguin Theory’ and follows my facebook page ‘liking’ most of my statuses on there.

He always asks how the sewing is going and has recently started telling me that ‘This is the year penguins will fly’.

I absolutely love this phrase and have now changed my blogs tag line to this because this IS the year the penguin theory will get off the ground and start flapping it’s wings! It’s just so perfectly fitting that I had to steal it (although he has stated that there’s ‘no need to steal for your blog, you have a gift’).

It’s people like this that really keep me motivated. The fact that so many seem to believe I can do it (and not just people from work, friends and family too and of course my boyfriend is a HUGE help) is really a big confidence booster. Without everyone’s support I would have probably given up by now, but the hard work is paying off and sales are being made. I am really starting to believe in myself now and, as long as I keep up the hard work, I know I can make something of myself.

So heres to you Michael! When I’m rich and the penguins are soaring, I will buy you a drink!

2 responses

  1. People can so encouraging, and I agree it makes such a difference. The pub sounds lovely:) Glad you are making sales, it always perks me up no end when my phone make the ker-ching cash register noise!

    March 10, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    • Yes, it really does make a lot of difference! I think it’s hard to really become successful in this industry without people standing by you during the bad times and really pushing you to achieve your best. 🙂

      March 11, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Leave a Reply

