This is the year penguins will fly.

Winter Cape

I’ve always wanted a Cape with a big hood to keep me cosy during the winter weather. However, I could never find one I really liked. So I decided to set myself a challenge and make myself my ideal winter cape!

It was a bit of a struggle and isn’t fully completed yet, but I’m so proud of what i’ve achieved and just couldn’t resist taking some pictures, especially when the snow started falling!

Ashley took the pictures (and complained about getting snow in his shoe!) whilst I twirled around in my cape and posed awkwardly (I always feel super self conscious when modelling things). The snow acted as a natural light box despite the sky not being particularly bright, one of the reasons why I love snow, it’s almost impossible to get a bad photo!

I’ve always wanted something with a big floppy hood so I knew I just HAD to include one. The hood turned out to be quite a challenge, easy to make but just very awkward to attach. I’m happy I decided to add it though as I got to learn a new skill! I think I will change the shape of the hood for future garments though (this one is maybe just a little too deep, although you can’t tell in this picture).

The outer fabric is thick and sparkly, keeping the warmth in and adding a little bit of glam! I fell in love with this fabric at first sight and knew I just had to make some kind of coat out of it!

I originally wanted the lining to be a dark, flowery patterned, silk-like fabric but it turned out there wasn’t enough of it. In the end the only suitable lining fabric I had enough of was this stunning blue, silk I bought from my trip to china! I think it’s just fate that I decided to buy more of this than all the others because I absolutely LOVE the result! It’s just so pretty, and so silky smooth!

I can’t wait to finish it off completely so that I can wear it out and about, but first I have an order to complete. My minecraft tie has sold again! This will be the last tie for a while as I don’t think I have enough fabric for another. I must restock! (What a good feeling it is to sell out of a product!)

Hopefully there will be many more new projects on the horizon soon! I have so many already started and so many more still to start! I better get cracking!

Claire

The Penguin Theory

8 responses

  1. It’s beautiful!!!

    February 12, 2013 at 3:13 pm

    • Thank you so much!

      February 12, 2013 at 3:27 pm

  2. really awesome cape, great job and great inspiration for my sewing lessons.

    March 13, 2013 at 7:37 pm

    • Thank you so much! It really is an awesome little project. Quick and easy, but with so many options to add your own twist! I want to do one with buttons down the front at some point to make it a little trickier! 🙂

      March 13, 2013 at 8:26 pm

  3. That Chinese silk fabric caught my eye straight away Claire! Combines dramatically with your richer warmer outer fabric. Is it of wool. Just perfect for the snow!!

    March 22, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    • Thank you so much! I saw that fabric and just knew I had to have it! So happy with how it came out 🙂

      March 23, 2013 at 12:10 pm

  4. hester

    cool i wat to make a cape by myself but i don’t know the paterns

    September 2, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    • Thanks! It’s really simple, i made the pattern myself and it’s just a sort of semi circle really. 🙂

      September 7, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Leave a Reply

