This is the year penguins will fly.

Sisterly Memories

Festive Sisters

I personally believe it’s quite important to be close to your family, maybe not necessary, but important. I never thought I was all that close to my sister when we we’re growing up and was pretty certain that the knocking out of my two front teeth and releasing the car seat so that I smashed my face into the dashboard were definitely done on purpose, but recently I have realised I was wrong. We we’re in fact very close, it’s just neither of us realised it. She swore blind that she hated my guts and I would have been convinced I was adopted if I’d never seen a picture of my father. How ever, as we’ve grown and we’ve seemingly become closer, I’ve started thinking about my childhood memories and realised that we we’re actually close all along.

Here are a few of my favourite sisterly memories:

Sea Otter

My family were lucky enough to go on a lot of holidays. One particular holiday my sister and I were playing in the sea and I noticed she was floating in a way that made her look like a Sea Otter. She asked what kind of noise sea otters made and I replied with ‘I dunno…mip mip?’. This lead to a lot of laughter and we even found a song (Island in the Sun by Weezer) where we decided the beginning lyrics we’re actually ‘mip mip’. I love this song and sometimes listen to it just to remember this moment and giggle to myself.

Another classic holiday moment. My mother shouted ‘Pose!’ and this happened.

Miracle Cures

In primary school my sister caught chicken pox and then happened to give it to me. She felt bad about it and so baked a cake with smarties on top to resemble spots! I have my doubts as to whether she actually felt bad or just wanted cake but it still cheered me up immensely.

Another time she made me a tasty treat was again when I was ill. I had come back from an investigation at the hospital and the actual procedure somehow caused me to have really bad migraines for a few days after. One day my sister came home to find me in bed, curtains closed, duvet above my head, in the middle of the day. She obviously knew something was wrong, it was in fact probably one of the worst migraines i’ve ever had. She knows I just love pudding (i have a ridiculously sweet tooth) and she also knows I love bananas in custard and golden syrup. Because of this she decided to mix them together and made a glorious concoction of banana, custard AND golden syrup. It was so incredibly sickly and I felt so ill that it took me over an hour to eat. She kept checking on me and complaining about how little I’d eaten as I groaned from under the duvet, but eventually something in that bowl started to work it’s magic and the migraines I’d been having for several days suddenly disappeared completely. Ever since, when ever I’ve had a migraine I’ve made a bowl of banana and custard with golden syrup (at least when i’ve had the ingredients) and it has worked every time. Plus it really is deliciously sweet!

We couldn’t help but stop the car when we saw this hilariously rude sign.

Naughty Choir Girls

When we were younger we went to church a lot. I say a lot, I mean every sunday. I don’t think I really believe in religion now, and the sermons were reeeaaally boring, but I did love to sing in the choir and still do (although I only go to church occasionally when I go home). However for a child church really is the most boring place on earth and so we often found other ways to amuse ourselves, secretly so the other members of the congregation still thought we were the little angels we tried to pretend we were.  This often resulted in us pulling funny faces at each other and mouthing conversations, normally trying to make the other one laugh to get them into trouble. Normally my sister won as I idolised her and found almost every joke of hers hilarious. We also had a few hymns that still make me laugh out loud to this day, my favourite of these being 2 lines taken from George R. Woodward’s : This Joyful Eastertide.  In the last verse you will find these words:

‘Till trump from east to west,

Shall wake the dead in number’

Being young and silly we took this as a smelly fart that was so bad it even woke the dead. I don’t think either of us have ever managed to get the whole way through that song without laughing.

The old choir days. See if you can guess which one was me. Hint : I was a little chubbier

Of course there are many, many more moments which I just can’t think of right now. I am so glad I’m not an only child as I not only would have missed out on so much fun and laughter, and the occasional fight, but I also have missed out on having her as a best friend. I know she’ll always look out for me as she has done in the past, and she is also very supportive of my crafts. She always reads through my documents, most recently the CV, and helps me to improve. I really do appreciate her and hope I can be just as much help to her one day.

But that’s enough of this soppy post (although there might be one about my mother in the near future), it’s time to apply for jobs!

Have you got a sibling you’re extremely grateful for? Or do you have someone else who supports you in the same way? Or do you have any funny family stories or in jokes?

One response

  1. Reblogged this on Katy Jade Dobson Art and commented:
    The sweetest blog post on an amazing blog. Clare’s concept behind The Penguin Theory is so heart warming it makes me squeal! Make sure you have a look at her website for great articles, and her quirky shop.

    January 12, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Leave a Reply

