This is the year penguins will fly.

How to Decide on that Dream Job

 

backtoworkmonday

I think before you really start looking for a job it’s important to think about what you want out of it.

Do you want it to be a long term thing or just a job as a means of income until you can get the job you really want? Do you care about what your job involves or are you more family oriented and just want to be able to pay the bills?

Knowing what you want out of a job will inevitably help you find the ideal job for you.

If you really care about your career and feel like you have to find a job you truly enjoy then here are a few things to keep in mind in that job search:

 

1) How many hours would you like to work? Are you looking for a full time job or would you prefer to have a bit more time to yourself? Do you mind working nights or would you prefer the 9-5? Do you want a set routine or are you ok with shift work?

I originally started working at the pub because I didn’t really mind when I worked, I just knew I wanted part time to give me lots of time for acting and the such. I also quite liked how I would get a lot of days off in the week as this would mean more time for auditions. However, now i’m concentrating more on sewing and Ash is at University during the day i’m finding i’d much prefer a regular day job. I’d like normal(ish) hours and no more closes at 2am so I can get myself in a routine and have more time to spend with Ash.

 

2) Do you want to progress in your career? Do you want the opportunity of promotions in the company or are you thinking of moving on soon after? 

If you just want the job for money until you can go for the job you really want then I wouldn’t be too fussy about where you apply or about any promotion opportunities. However, the willingness to learn and to advance in your career is always going to impress the interviewer whether or not you really are looking to stay permanently. Plus any progression you do make will look great on your CV!

 

3) What is it you enjoy? What kind of job do you really want to do?

I think it’s important to enjoy your job, I know people who don’t and they are miserable. You will have to be going to this job every day/week so you have to at least find something your enjoy about it, even if it is just a temporary or part time thing. Think about something you really enjoy, maybe some kind of hobby you do in your spare time. I love to dance, Act and sew. As much as I love dancing I know I wouldn’t want to do it professionally, however I can really see myself taking up sewing or acting as career. The only problem is that both of these are difficult to get going so I know that I need a full time job until I get my feet off the ground. When looking for something I knew that I loved interactions with customers as opposed to an office job and thought bar work would be perfect! I was right and I do love my job, it’s just that other circumstances have changed but maybe I can look into jobs in a box office at a theatre. Then I would be linking my acting and love of customer interaction whilst (hopefully) avoiding such late closings.

 

It really is important to think about exactly what your looking for before you start applying. Otherwise you might just find yourself in the same position a couple of weeks down the line.

‘Till next time!

Leave a Reply

