This is the year penguins will fly.

Alphabet Dating – Starting with A

A few weeks ago my sister told me about one of her friends who had started Alphabet Dating with her boyfriend. This basically meant that they took it in turns to choose a date but it has to follow the alphabet. For example, ‘A’ could be a date to an Arcade, ‘B’ could be a Bike ride etc.

Ash and I have decided to do the same as we really liked the idea of it (ok so it was mainly me but he agreed it could be fun). I chose our ‘A’ Date and decided to take us to Anime Expo (also known as Comic Con) as I know Ash has been dying to go.

It’s basically a big convention for anime, games and TV shows. There were various talks throughout the day, signings, games consoles to play and un-discovered talent selling their wares.

Giant Tardis

It is also well known for Cosplay and, as expected, there was a lot of it! We saw storm troopers, loads of Naruto’s, millions of zombies, a princess leia (with a lightsaber and not a gun, much to Ash’s disgust), an awesome transformer, slenderman, Princess peach, some practically naked girls (even in this cold weather) and so many more! I love dressing up and so loved looking at all the weird and wonderful costumes. Some people really do go all out.

Being turned to the darkside

We mainly wondered around just looking at all the wonders the shop owners had to offer but there were also talks going on all day and games areas where you play both new and old consoles. Nintendo were there with the WiiU and gave us free keyrings! Unfortunately we couldn’t be bothered to wait actually play on the WiiU but it did look really fun!

I didn’t really buy much myself (I actually came back with money which was unexpected!), but I did get this cute little toadstool ring made with real moss, and this hilariously awesome poster of Godzilla by SilentReaper. I also bought my first Christmas present, i’ve officially started my Christmas shopping. Eek!

We did plan to meet up with my sisters boyfriend and his friends, and we did for a little bit, but we hadn’t seen parts that they had seen and so ended up losing them when wondering off to look at things. Maybe next time we can get there at the same time…

By Silent Reaper and now on my wall

All in all it’s a good day out if you’re into that kind of thing. I know my sister went last year and hated it. She said she was creeped out by all the cosplay and things. But for any avid gamers, manga readers and nerdy tv watchers it is definitely a good event to go to!

Date A success. I wonder what Ash has planned for date B…

Till next time!

3 responses

  1. Jennie

    I may be a little jealous….mostly of you seeing the giant TARDIS

    October 30, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    • It was pretty awesome! 😀

      October 30, 2012 at 2:07 pm

  2. What a cute idea! I’ll have to try alphabet dating. Thanks!

    October 31, 2012 at 4:14 pm

Leave a Reply

