This is the year penguins will fly.

1920’s Prohibition Era Ball

My boyfriend has finally started University! Unfortunately his loan hasn’t come through yet, but hopefully it wont be long.

His Freshers Ball was in the Theme of the Prohibition Era. Luckily I had the night of work because I was so excited to dress up in tassels and big feathery head pieces!

Unfortunately I ended up working a lot before going (4 people have just left my work including one of the managers meaning we’re pretty low on staff) so I didn’t have time to buy the amazing outfit I had envisioned.

Instead we had a quick run to Camden on the day to of the ball as we figured it would be the best place to find some vintage looking outfits. I did see some lovely and perfect outfits but unfortunately my budget would not allow for them. I also saw some cheaper outfits which again would have been perfect but I just couldn’t justify spending £20 on them when I knew I wouldn’t wear them again.

In the end I settled for a cheap cream lace number. It didn’t quite fit the style (it had too much shape to it really) but I figured I could make it more 1920’s with some accessories and make-up. I knew I had some shoes somewhere that we’re very 1920’s, but unfortunately I seem to have left them in the north so I settled with some matching lace heels.

I ended up tying a ribbon round my waist, not all that 1920’s but it looked pretty and gave me a big bow on the back (I love big bows!). I also wore a few long, beaded necklaces to try and make up for the lack of tassels. For the headpiece I used an old sparkly headband I wore when I danced the charleston with my old dance school (how appropriate!) and attached a big flower to it as I didn’t have any feathers.

For my make-up I made it quite simple just adding some eyeliner and then bright red lipstick. I wasn’t about to cut all my hair off into a 1920’s bob, so I just left it as it was, straight and long.

Considering my lack of time and money I think I actually looked pretty good!

It turned out to be a really good night. Just him and I dancing like idiots whilst getting a little merry.

It’s a shame the journey back wasn’t quite so fun. Our flat is really hard to get to with the night buses. This meant we had to take 2 buses and then walk for 40 minutes, which wouldn’t be too bad if it wasn’t freezing and absolutely pouring it down with rain.

Hopefully there’ll be many more good nights out soon, if I’m not working too much that is.

‘Till next time!!

Leave a Reply

