This is the year penguins will fly.

Breaded Fish – Cooking Tutorial

Recently I’ve found that, although I love cooking, I’ve been a bit lazy with my meals lately. I never seem to make anything interesting any more, It’s just pie and chips or sausage and mash. I seem to have lost my enthusiasm for it. So I figure what better way to get it back then to blog about it! I was thinking this could be a weekly or maybe fortnightly section of my blog and will hopefully inspire many of you to cook as well!

I have actually been thinking about doing this for a while but wasn’t sure about the idea. I mentioned this on Pillowsalamode’s blog and she gave me the final push I needed to get round and do it! You can find her awesome blog here . She really makes some adorable sewn products.

Anyways. Before I start with my first ever cooking blog, there are probably a few things you need to know about my style of cooking:

1) I am very slapdash. My recipes are always changing and most of them made up as I go (although usually based off some prior knowledge) .

2) I like simple easy recipes. I know I can cook more complicated things, but what’s the point when quick and easy can taste so nice?

3)  I don’t really measure or time things. When it looks right that’ll do. If you’re looking for precise recipes this is not the place.

Got all that? Still want to read on? Great stuff.

Today I am making some lovely breaded fish. I’ve never actually made this before nor do I know how to, but I do know it involves eggs and breadcrumbs. I’ve battered fish at work and figure it can’t be much different to that right?

First off is to make the breadcrumbs. This is easy. All you need is a ‘Wizzer stick’ (as I like to call it) or a blender, and obviously some bread. I got my ‘Whizzer Stick’  for a christmas present years ago and absolutely love it! It’s so useful with all it’s different attachments and so much easier to store than a blender. I definitely think every kitchen should have one.

I just used 1 slice of bread and whizzed it up until there were no big pieces. Easy.

Next You need to pour the bread crumbs into a longish container which will fit in your fish, mine was a little too small but still worked fine enough.

You also need to crack some eggs into another dish and whisk them up just a little bit so they’re nicely mixed together.

Whisking eggs in the Batman Apron I made for my boyfriend

Now comes the messy bit. Dip your fish firstly in the egg and then in the breadcrumbs and repeat. I found  I had to do this double dip to make a really good even coating of breadcrumbs on the fish (see learning as I go!). I used a nice fillet of Cod given to me by work as it was past the date we could sell but still edible. I think for this recipe it is probably best to use a thicker fillet as it would be harder to over cook, but thin ones like this should be fine as long as you are careful.

Lovely juicy cod!

 

Meet bob. He’s helping me fish the cod out of the egg sea.

And now helping to apply the breadcrumb coating

Then I put them on a baking tray along with some wedges I’d made up and put them in the oven. I put the oven on around 180-200˚c for around 20 mins (as I said i’m not very precise). Or at least that’s what I intended. I actually ended up forgetting about food as I got distracted with some others things and slightly over cooked it all (looked nice but the fish became a little dry, like I said you need to be more careful with the thinner fillets and I was not). But basically just throw it in there until everything looks brown, golden and delicious!

And there you have it. It’s tasty, quick and easy and so much cheaper than the shop bought breaded fish. We ate it with homemade wedges, peas, sweetcorn and salad cream.

I have actually already started thinking about how to improve this recipe.

1) Obviously don’t be an idiot and forget about it cooking.

2) Add some herbs and spices to the eggs or breadcrumbs for a little extra flavour.

If anyone decides to have a go at this recipe or even has some more ideas for improvements i’d love to see your results and suggestions!

I really hope you enjoyed reading tis tutorial because I really enjoyed cooking, eating and writing it 😉

Next time I will have more of my sewing updates as I have a project almost finished! (sneak preview below!)

Till next time!

Any guesses which game this is from?

Leave a Reply

