This is the year penguins will fly.

Photoshop Tutorial – How to Get Rid of Eye Bags

Hey there.

So I was busy editing photographs from my most recent product photo shoot and noticed that I had extremely bad bags under my eyes (i haven’t had a lot of sleep recently). Obviously looking tired isn’t the best when trying to sell a product and so i decided to try and use my mediocre photoshopping skills on them. I was rather impressed with the results and so I thought i’d make a short tutorial for anyone else who might have the same problem.

This tutorial uses Photoshop CS5 and is surprisingly simple to do.

There’s actually a tool especially for doing things like this, you can find it at the top of the second ‘section’ of tools on the left. Right click and you should be able to see  ‘Healing Brush Tool’ in the drop down.

As you can see, i’ve already zoomed in close on my face so that I can see what i’m doing.

Next you have to select the area of face that you want to use to fix the bags. I always choose just under the area you’ll be fixing as it helps it blend a little better together. To select the area you just have to hold down ‘Alt’ (I’m on a mac but I think it’s the same on windows too, please let me know if it isn’t). A little target should appear so , whilst still holding ‘Alt’, click on the area you’re wanting to use.

I chose to click on the very most left hand side of my face as I knew I’d be drawing over the eye bag from left to right.

You can take your finger off the ‘Alt’ button now and just draw normally, following the bag under your eye.

Ignore the fact that it looks incredibly obvious at this point, that’s normal, when you finish and let go of the mouse button it should all blend in nicely with photoshops magical powers.

Tada! You’re no longer looking in need of sleep!

Now you just have to do the same on the other side.

Of course this can sometimes take a few tries to get it right, but it seems to work perfectly almost every time for me.

I also finished off my picture by adjusting the brightness and contrast,  fiddling with my eye colour a bit (just a vanity thing there) and desaturating the background.

I hope at least someone out there will find this useful, this was rather fun to make so I might even do a few more tutorials in the future! 🙂

‘Till next time!

Leave a Reply

