This is the year penguins will fly.

A Surprise Birthday Treat!

My sister didn’t give me a present on my birthday, instead she told me to meet her at Covent Garden on the 1st of August.

So yesterday I got ready to go meet her after work, due to my extremely bad time management and being held up in traffic i was about an hour late. Good job she told me an earlier time.

As she greeted me she revealed that she had bought some cupcakes to eat later, I was already excited.

We then walked out of the square, I could see Lion king down the road but knew that couldn’t be it. I’ve already seen it twice and one of those times my sister was with me and fell asleep half way through!

We walked down another street and as we neared the end I could see a sign for Derren Brown!

I do really like Derren Browns live ‘stand up’ shows (maybe not to much his tv ones) and so was really excited to be going to watch him.

He did not disappoint!

As usual he mixed comedy with his act, keeping the audience laughing throughout. The show seemed to be split into two, the first half having a completely different feel to the second. The audience were also highly involved as usual and we found out some very funny things about some of them, like the man who stole money from his parents to buy a barbie playhouse and the other who went to his doctor to learn how to…well…pleasure himself.

Derren Brown left his mark on me…

I would love to talk about the whole show, but it really is one of those things you have to see to really get a feel for it, plus I wouldn’t want to ruin it for anyone else. Also, Derren always asks the audience not to tell people, it seems rude to ignore him.

All I will say is that it was brilliant. We both left not knowing what had just happened, or at least how it had happened. I’m still reeling, trying to solve the mysteries at least just a little bit!

If you get a chance to go before his tour ends i would recommend you do. It was amazing. Such a good birthday treat!

After the show we went for a wonder along the Southbank to eat our cupcakes (which had edible glitter on them!!). There was some kind of strange performance going on outside of the national theatre but we didn’t stay for long as it was getting late.

I really had an awesome time. It was definitely a very successful birthday treat šŸ™‚

Till next time!

Leave a Reply

