This is the year penguins will fly.

Special Beads for a Special Event.

Today I will be going to the UK Etsy meet up in London and decided I needed to make some special jewellery to wear for the occasion. I haven’t kept many of my handmade items for myself as I feel guilty when looking at the mounds of jewellery i already own.

But for christmas I was given some beads from my mum’s boyfriend that I was under strict instructions to use for myself, as I really should start wearing my own things. I mean if i’m not going to wear it why would anyone else?

Plus I feel this kind event really does need me to advertise my wares so i really needed to knuckle down and make some items.

The only problem was, i’ve been lacking inspiration for a long time and had no idea what to make. So, i decided to rummage through my jewellery box and came across an old necklace that i hadn’t worn for ages. This necklace sparked some ideas in my mind and I suddenly went on a productive streak managing to make 3 necklaces and 3 pairs of earrings in the space of a few hours!

Pink and Pearl Heart Necklace

Cute pink and cheerful, bit more girly than i’m used to, but I like it any way. It has a string of pearls broken up by pink and gold coloured beads and a large gold heart pendant.

Flower Dangle Earrings

Again cute and girly. These special flower beads seemed to suit the pearls beautifully to create a cute pair of earrings perfect for spring.

Fishy Necklace

This necklace has actually been made to sell. A string of pearls separated by a cute fish bead. A fun and quirky necklace for those who like the unusual.

Blue Chain Earrings

An eye catching pair of earrings made to to make a statement.

 I also made a pair of earrings for my sister’s birthday as the present i really made her was a big fail. I made them to match a dress she already owns. Unfortunately I do not have a picture of them for you. Maybe another time.

In other news, our flat now has pets!

Shrimp!

They are completely self reliant in their own little ecosystem, they require no feeding, cleaning or any other pet related chores. The perfect animal for forgetful me!

Leave a Reply

