This is the year penguins will fly.

Valentines Alone

Yes, as the title suggests, I pretty much spent valentines alone, despite actually having a boyfriend. But we’ll get into that later…

I had an exciting day on Sunday as I got up early to go to london to try and become an extra in the film adaption of Les Miserables. A ridiculous number of people turned up (like 7000?) and there were only 300 roles that needed filling (ha! only!). A lot of people didn’t even get through the doors, luckily I somehow managed to.

A teeny tiny part of the queue

Once i was in we were asked to fill in a form, then got measurements taken and a photograph. Apparently I should find out before the end of the month so fingers crossed!

After coming home from the auditions the boyfriend and I decided to go on a little date. Since he saw the adverts for Star Wars in 3D he’s been wanting to go and see it so that seemed like the obvious choice.

We’d both already seen the movie so knew the story line and what to expect, but the 3D definitely enhanced the experience. The pod racing, the  flight in space, the fight scenes. Everything just seemed so much bigger and more exciting, although I guess the big screen could have contributed to that as well. In fact i don’t even think he wanted to see it for the 3D, he just wanted to see Star Wars in the cinema.

Monday passed with no big events and was rather boring, but as we all know, today (or yesterday as it is past midnight, whoops!) is valentines.

I’ve spent pretty much the whole of valentines on my own. Woke up at 8 to the boyfriends alarm, played Skyrim until 12 (It was a lazy day ok) then wandered into town on the search for fabric to make his valentines present. However,  I couldn’t really find any nice fabrics and instead bought a t-shirt with a lion on it (something i’ve always wanted, it was love at first sight).

Lion top plus some new awesome material (mentioned later)

Eventually, with the help of my amazing smart phone (seriously how did I ever cope without?), I found that there was a big fabric store about a 5 minute drive away!

I only went in for one bit of fabric but ended up coming back with 3…Something that seems to happen everytime I buy fabric. I seriously need someone to come with me to fabric stores and stop me spending too much.

I bought some polkadot to go with another polkadot for an apron I have in mind, so I guess that’s acceptable.

I also got this amazing, wipeable material, almost like linoleum. It has big crayons on it and i think will make the perfect craft apron for a child. I’m so excited to use it, i just hope that it doesn’t break my needle. So i’ve decided I can get away with that purchase too.

The last fabric was a stripey brown, grey, white and black that was actually what i’d gone there for, so obviously that was acceptable too. This was to make a nice tie for my boyfriend as he’s been asking me for one for ages and what a perfect time to give him one! (plus I have loads left to make more ties as the material turned out really nice)

I’m just waiting for him to come back from work now to give it to him, i think he thinks i haven’t got him anything so it will be a nice surprise.

I would love to hear about what kind of things anyone else made (or bought) for their valentines.

Till next time, Stay happy!

2 responses

  1. I also have spent most of the day alone. Sometimes you are the best valentine you can have.
    Random but true; the person in the queue wearing the red coat looks just like me (i’m not in the uk).

    February 15, 2012 at 4:17 am

    • Yes, it actually wasn’t that bad a day. I’m not a massive fan of valentines anyway, christmas is so much better! Oh how random! haha!

      February 15, 2012 at 2:05 pm

Leave a Reply

