This is the year penguins will fly.

Festive Makings and a Job search

Ok, so it’s quite late but i have been rather busy.

Just before christmas I decided to buy all this christmassy fabric in the hopes of making my family some gifts.

Make-Shift Stencils

Cue me being really unorganised and failing to get anything done.

This lead to me working like a crazy woman, my boyfriend even started calling me his ‘little chinese worker’, to get them finished on time.

Trying not to stab my fingers

I had made a couple of Aprons before, but this time I decided to go all out, giving them all a nice lining (even in the pockets). The ties also have a nice lining on them (unfortunately I forgot to take a picture of the finished products before everyone left)

Christmas itself was probably one of my favourite christmases we’ve had, even my mum has been saying the same.

My boyfriend, Ash, had decided to spend it with us instead of his own family (long story) so I was especially happy.

sew sew sew

We started the day as normal, opening stocking presents (I’d bought some for Ash so that he didn’t feel left out). I got a cookbook, lots of chocolate, some amazingly pretty beads (i’m just itching to use) along with the usual socks and knickers.

We then took our usual trip to see some extended family members, had a few glasses of alcohol, exchanged a few gifts, before coming back to sort out food and such. I also then disappeared upstairs to carry on making some bags for my aunts to put their presents in (a selection of mustard and soaps). Yes I was so badly organised I was even working on christmas day itself.

Measuring

Eventually the whole family arrived. Aunts, Uncle, Cousins, Grandparents all descended on us. There were 14 of us in total (3 being littles) and so it was very busy. We had to drag the kitchen table into our living room (good job it’s a big room!) and get all the emergency chairs out, including piano stools.

My grandpa waved his new tie happily when he arrived exclaiming how he was sorry he was no longer wearing it, he was just too warm. Made me very happy to see how much everyone was enjoying the things i’d made for them.

Concentrating very hard apparently.

We thought it was going to be far to hectic and noisy for the grandparents, and there would be too many people all getting in the way, but thankfully my xbox kept the children amused upstairs whilst the food was being prepared and everything seemed to run smoothly!

I got some brilliant presents, David Attenborough’s Autobiography (i’ve always been obsessed), A years subscription to a jewellery magazine, a new suitcase (the wheels on mine look like they’ve exploded), clothing and books.

Final Iron

All together, a very successful christmas.

Ash text me the other day saying how his work mates picked on his tie (to be fair it is bright red with reindeers on it…) and then when he mentioned i’d made it they were all shocked and refused to believe him until they saw it didn’t have any tags. (That reminds me…I must get some tags made.) Again it made me so happy to hear how impressed people were with my work! Definitely going to keep this sewing malarky up. Hopefully I will be moving onto clothing soon…or at least some more complicated aprons and lots more ties.

My sister and her Apron next to the Christmas tree.

In other news. I will be changing the name of my business. Claire’s Crafty Creations is just too boring and over done. My mum doesn’t agree, but then I doubt she hasn’t searched it in google. Far too many shops pop up. I need something exciting and different, that means something to me. I was thinking of ‘The Penguin Theory’, which you will recognise if you’ve read my earlier posts, I even have permission from the co-founder of the penguin theory. (I say co-founder, but she was the one who really first mentioned it). I would also have a mascot of a penguin called ‘Gru-gru’ named after one of my penguins from the origins of this theory.

Back View

When I told my mother all this she didn’t seem to think it was a good idea as it didn’t say what my items were, even mentioning that a lot high street shops don’t tend to either didn’t seem to sway her, I mean ‘Monsoon’ doesn’t shout clothing to me, just lots and lots of rain.

Anyone got any advice or ideas?

In other news, I’VE MOVED! (hence the long silence)

I no longer live in the north but am based down in Essex. I wanted to be closer to London and the Boyfriend needed help with rent so it just seemed like a good idea. Since i’ve got here I’ve sorted out our room about 3 times, applied for every job I could find, handed out as many CVs as possible and sketched more designs for when I bring all my crafty stuff down. (I’m actually going to get the rest of my stuff tomorrow).

I just got news today that I have got myself an interview in a Weatherspoons about 40minutes away (my car is ridiculously economical so petrol shouldn’t be too expensive). It’s for a part time job which is perfect as then I still have plenty of time to sew and go to auditions!

Better start picking out a smart outfit and practice answering questions!

Till next time, stay happy!

Sexy Pose for a sexy lining.

Leave a Reply

