This is the year penguins will fly.

Cultural Wanderings in Canterbury

So right now i’m in Canterbury, mainly to help with my dissertation, but i made time for a bit of a wander around the sites.

I got up at about 7ish and went to ride on a train for about 3 hours. Then i finally got here and managed to get lost on my way to the B&B, but eventually, after a good hour or so wandering in the boiling heat, heavily laden with bags and in far too many layers, i found it. The first thing i did was use the free shampoo/conditioner and shower gel, then i stole some free tea and milk, and then some free wifi.

After a change of clothes i wandered up to the university and found the part of the library with all the Grotowski stuffs. I mainly looked at his production called The Constant Prince today, which happens to be the subject of my third chapter. I watched the video and Rhyszard Cieslak is a truly amazing actor. He was completely immersed into the role, i can definitely see why they toured it for so long. Even though it’s all in Polish, you didn’t need to understand the words to understand the anguish. I took lots of pictures and notes, then got thrown out at closing time. Will be going back for the day tomorrow 🙂

I decided at this point it was time to get food as my tummy had been rumbling for quite a while so i headed into town to get a chinese! Somehow it took me about 2 hours to actually get round to buying any food as i got a little bit distracted by culture…I found some pretty gardens and a nice river. Eventually i found the Canthedral, how i lost it in the first place i’ll never know, it’s not exactly small. I even found a nice little castle. But soon the hunger got the better of me so i went and got some chicken and sweetcorn soup (i wanted crab but they didnt have it:( ), chicken chow mein (wanted rice and something but have no monies 😦 ) and some pancakes (which were pretty much spring rolls, yum!) and then wandered back to the b&b to sneak them into my room and munch whilst resting my weary feet, watching TV and dossing on the internet.

It was at this point i realised my TV was set to B&W, i still haven’t figured out how to set it onto colour. It’s flat screen and quite new and shiny so i’m guessing it can handle colours…

Anyways, it’s back to the north tomorrow (after another day in the library), but for now have some pretty pictures! 🙂

Stay happy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

