This is the year penguins will fly.

Moving Southwards

Today i was woken up at 8am (after going to bed at 1am? 2am? Who knows) by the mother as she was going away for the weekend and it would be the last chance to see her before I go back to Uni. I figured whilst i was already awake i may as well get up and finish off the packing i had ignored…

And when i say ‘finish off’ i mean ‘start’.

I’m far too good at procrastinating. In fact i’m procrastinating right now. I’m meant to be unpacking. Something i hate nearly as much as packing.

Nearly.

However, half way through changing i realised that i had packed all my T-Shirts at the bottom of my bag.  Luckily there was some clean washing in the spare room that hadn’t been packed yet so i went to rummage through that to grab my things. Then i heard a noise…I was confused at first, i knew i recognised it but just couldn’t figure out where from. Then it dawned on me. It was the terrifying sound of a window cleaners ladder! And i was stood in only my underwear! I quickly dashed from the room back to my bedroom and got changed into a random tshirt and jeans. Safe.

Surprisingly this isn’t the first time this has happened. Window cleaners always seem to pounce on me whilst i’m naked/scantily clad/in the shower. Thus i have gained a small dislike for window cleaners. I swear they have some kind of ‘naked claire sensor’ so they know when to come over…

Later i went to help the grandparents put all their christmas stuff back in their loft. It was relatively uneventful but just before going i told them both i loved them, something i’ve realised i don’t do often enough. And not just with them, with other family members too. I shout at my mum far too much (what? She annoys me sometimes!) and then feel pretty guilty. I think i’m going to add this to my list of  New Years Resolutions. I don’t want my family thinking I don’t love them! And it actually felt pretty good to say it… strangely awkward to actually feel it coming out of my mouth (I’m not the soppy kind ok!) but the smile on my grandma’s face said it all! 🙂

Then it was back home to finish packing, load up the car and set off for Bedford!

Literally as soon as i got on the motorway my car started spluttering and the needle started dropping. This has happened before, the car really doesn’t like the rain, and it was raining quite a lot. Plus i was over taking a lorry and they throw up ridiculous amounts of spray. I had pull over onto the hard shoulder for a bit for my poor little micra to recover. Soon i was off again, but i had the same problem over taking every lorry (although i didn’t pull over again). I stopped at the first place I could to fix the problem. I’m no mechanic, but we do have some WD40 and that seems to do the trick…temporarily.

The rest of the journey was uneventful. I sang, i drove, it got REALLY rainy, i sang, it got really foggy, i made it my mission to stalk a particular car, i sang even more, i lost the car, i got to Bedford.

2 of my housemates are back. Had a nice chat. The Ex comes back tomorrow (yes i live with my ex…). I think that will be interesting…

Anyways, i guess i should get back to unpacking.

*sigh*

Leave a Reply

