This is the year penguins will fly.

Exciting Things Ahead

I’m sorry for my absence recently, it has become a little intense on my end! A few people left the pub I work at and, with it all ready being understaffed (especially in the kitchen) i’m suddenly roped into 6 day weeks with over 60 hours. As you can imagine it’s not leaving much time for Penguin Theory-ing.

But there is a light at the end of the tunnel as my life is soon to take on a drastic change!

I have somehow managed to bag myself a job and London Zoo! I’m so excited as I seriously love animals (if you hadn’t noticed from reading my blog) and I will be earning more than I do now with a job I just know I’m going to love! Plus I’ll have more time for Penguin Theory as I will be working less hours also. I seriously cannot wait to start! I wish it could be now! It’s shame it’s just a summer job for now, but I plan to work hard and really try to impress.

20140225_152956

I couldn’t resist a penguin selfie.

I am also still owed a lot of holiday from the pub job and so I have next week off (I only found out a couple of days ago!). I will be using that time to catch up with my 365 project posts and making lots of new items for my shop as well as starting some new exciting projects.

A project I really cant wait to start is this gorgeous coat, I won the pattern from an excellent blog: Custom Style . Thank’s Brooke! I can’t wait to get stuck in! I have so many ideas for the fabric choices but just need to buy some fabric large enough. I think this will also be the first project i make a mock-up of first so I need to get some muslin too. Unfortunately I might have to wait for my new job to be able to afford it as the current one (even with all these extra hours) only just covers my rent and other expenses.

By the way brooke, your handwriting is so pretty!

20140302_105352

I also have some very big plans for my photography and will be going on lots of adventures with my camera during the next week, and not just taking photo’s of nature but also getting back into longboarding and other sports.

I’ve already entered the Wildlife Photographer of the Year (just before the deadline!) although i wish i’d had more time to really explore and take more photographs, I still think I might have some good contenders entered but I’m just happy that i’ve at least tried. Fingers crossed!

I really can’t wait for this next month, it’s going to be amazing. As cheesy as it sounds, i feel like it’s the start of the life I’ve always wanted and I couldn’t be happier! Bring on the rest of 2014! :D

Claire x

4 responses

  1. So happy for summer job :) and so proud because you are working so hard even now! But good luck… can’t wait to read more here as well :)

    Love, Wink n Pout
    Blog , App

    March 2, 2014 at 5:58 pm

    • Thank you so much! :D I will definitely be updating a lot!

      March 3, 2014 at 11:57 am

  2. Congratulations on the exciting new job!

    I’m so glad you got the pattern – can’t wait to see what you do with it! If you don’t have the money for muslin for a mockup, you can always use an old bedsheet (look for one at a thrift store if you don’t already have one).

    I’m flattered you like my handwriting on the quickly written note. =)

    March 3, 2014 at 3:49 pm

    • Thank you! :D

      Ah I never even thought of that, I’m sure I could get an old bed sheet from somewhere! I can’t wait to get stuck in :)

      March 4, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 298 other followers